Grumpy
showed up. Grumpy showed up late.
Grumpy
had been trying to teach Royal the word NO all day. Apparently the rest
of the family has a different method than using that word.
Also his in-laws are living with him for the next two months. It was
mentioned that they and Carol are now DEAF.
Laura
showed up and was fussy about the big winds and no ice. We called Grumpy
to bring ice and he said who cares and hung up on us. He didn’t bring
ice. Laura went on a hunt and handled the ice. The beer would be
cold at the finish.
Grumpy
asked ME what I wanted him to do. Grumpy - “you used your name to sign
up”. To my defense - I called him twice a week and I wasn’t
sure he wanted to get on a boat for a while. I was going racing. I
didn’t know the rule about who is the skipper if the skipper races none of the
races.
Grumpy
- “Do you want me to do foredeck or something?” I assured him I wanted
the best driver on the boat to drive.
Later
I learned he had put in the f’ing alternator by himself earlier. 5 damn
bolts and all of them a bitch.
We
watched Mattraw try to sail out and hit the outside of the finger and then
blown back to The Deck.
It
took us a ½ hour to get the cars on the Jib. ‘Someone’ had put them
on the tack the first time. The second time he was swearing so bad it
took longer.
We
couldn’t get enough speed up to get out going forward so we opted for the stern
first maneuver. All the way out - until we hit middle of the
Columbia. Engine only quit a few times. It wasn’t pretty but
watching guys like Maguro beat the shit out of themselves on the dock – well,
it worked.
Laura
kept whining ‘we are not going to use the chute – right?’ – Grumpy agreed with
her. I set up for the chute and just mumbled.
At
some point before the first race I sprang a serious leak and was spewing blood
all over. For some reason Laura doesn’t like blood or guys who suck blood
off their fingers.
We
found some tape and stopped the leak.
Phuriously
Phast nailed the start. He was awesome. Scraped off Gwair and made
them go around at the start mark.
Great
first leg.
Grumpy
said – let’s try the chute.
I
did a shitty job getting up the first time and a shittier job the second time
but we ran it for two legs. My bad on the takeups.
We
finished down in the back.
Thursday, 2014
Grumpy
left the boat. Freddy showed up out on the water. That is why we
sail. You can leave the shit behind. Fred was ready for the next
start.
1:45
seconds to the start. Freddy says – ‘Skippy pack the chute” I knew
better than to argue but I sure didn’t like it. I sat there and said “I
fucking hate this” for 1:35 seconds, got it done and to the front of the
boat. I mumbled the whole time. Sometimes I feel like Stumpy in the movie
Rio Bravo. A John Wayne/Dean Martin film. Can someone
give me a little consideration some times?
Phuriously
nailed the start again. A little questionable on rights but who is
counting? Denny, you would have been horrified. We left the
fleet. They went left we went right in a wind shift.
We
were first to the mark.
I
nailed the takeup.
Then
another horrifying thing happened. We left the fleet again.
Everyone went Oregon and we went Washington because of an accidental Jibe that
we handled well. A damn Ranger was in our wind so we went Washington
more. By this time Laura was chipping on Freddy a little. My montra
was – “we are committed. Let’s go with it”. Freddy drove
great. We were at the mark first.
Then
the shit hit the fan the Fraculator was not cleared. It tangled
twice. My bad. I know to check those things.
Everyone
later said that Freddy was banging his head and rolling his eyes. But, he
kept his mouth shut. I was too busy to see him.
We
muscled thru it and ended up as a 2. I think we were 1 but Huseby put the
Stink Eye on the committee boat and they folded like a Catholic Virgin.
The
cold beers that Laura got us were the best ever. Do you think that Sandy
and Laura could handle a polygamous marriage?
Freddy
bought me a martini afterward. First one I had in a month and life was
good.
Denny,
I miss you too. Come home soon.
Katy
says hi – I gave her your quote - they threw a bunch of Cal20 guys out on
Thursday and it might be a game killer at The Deck. We were late.
Laura,
thanks for everything. You’re awesome.
No comments:
Post a Comment